Amish Friendship Bread

I love the idea of the Amish Friendship Bread.  Several years ago, I was watching a shop in the Food Network about a place in Alaska that makes the best sourdough pancakes.  They basically have a sour dough starter that they keep feeding and then make these pancakes.  I looked the whole thing up and made them.  Maybe I didn’t do it correctly because I didn’t think the pancakes were the best I’d ever had. 

My sister gave me a starter package of the Amish Friendship Bread.  The problem is, I would like to go ahead and make the bread and I am only on day 3 and it takes like 10 days.  Sigh.  I’m sitting here wondering if I can just go ahead make something with part of it.  Maybe I can add some milk flour and sugar and then split it in half and make some bread. 

I’ll let y’all know how that works out. 

I am also wondering, how did the Amish Friendship Bread make it all the way down to Texas from Pennsylvania Dutch country?  😀

One thought on “Amish Friendship Bread

  1. 1. I don’t think my friendship bread was “amish”….the recipe called for pudding mix. I doubt the Amish use instant pudding mix.

    2. I forgot about all the days….I will let ya know how it turns out. I added bananas to 1/2 of my batter…

    3. Anyone want some starter?

    4. I am going to hold on to some of the batter…keeping it some tupperware. I will have to look it up, but I used to have a recipe for sour dough pancakes.

Leave a Reply

