Coffee Cake

My grandmother was German.  My grandfather was Czech.  They met and married in south Texas and to my knowledge never lived very far from there.  My mom doesn’t enjoy cooking very much.  My grandmother was amazing in the kitchen.  She taught me many things I know about baking and cooking.  My aunt (on my mom’s side) taught me many things too.

Last night I was making my grandmother’s coffee cake; from scratch.  My grandmother passed away several years ago, I’ve been making her cinnamon rolls and coffee cake for years.  Last night I was reading my recipe (one of the few recipes I actually use and follow).  The recipe card is yellowed and stained; it looks like it survived a world war.  Those are the best recipes aren’t they.

This sweet dough can be used in many ways…

Scald a cup of milk and combine it with 1/2 cup of butter or crisco and 1/2 cup of sugar 1/4 t. salt.  Allow this to cool. 

After the butter/crisco melts, combine 1/4 cup of lukewarm water and a packet of yeast (yes, you can use quick rise).   Add this to the milk mixture. 

Mix in 4 cups of flour. 

Allow to rise for a couple of hours.

I do this in using my Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook. 

Enjoy.  Ask questions if needed.  I’ll try to take a picture before I eat all the coffee cake.

Leave a Reply

