Baby Girl’s Room

We have lived in our house for almost 3 years and the only room that had been left untouched was our “baby room”.  We fostered twins for a while (girl and boy) and I thought about redecorating then…but it’s hard to come up with a girl-boy idea and when fostering you don’t want to jump into redecorating based on a child that may or may not be staying.  Last year (yes, it has been almost a year) we began fostering our baby girl.  The plan is adoption.  It was time to do something with the room..it was purple with a pink stripe on two walls and a yellow stripe on two walls…and I didn’t hate the purple until I saw the colors I love next to it.

IMG_2882 IMG_2879

 

Here is my sister-in-law, helping me tape off.  You can see the old color.  And in the top picture you can see the new color.  It is a Valspar color from Lowe’s called Sprinkle.  I used this paint (click for the link).

paint

 

It has great coverage.  I used a gallon for the room (with some left over).

Then I decided to add an accent wall…a wall of lattice.

I love FROG TAPE!  This stuff is awesome.  FrogTape plus a laser level my husband bought me for Christmas…

IMG_2899 IMG_2900 IMG_2907

Because there was texture on the wall, I did have to go back and touch up…with an artist brush.  The paint guy at Lowe’s told me there is actually a FrogTape designed for textured walls.    So look for that.

Here’s the fun stuff…

IMG_2952

 

 

A new canvas project.

 

IMG_3043

 

IMG_3046

 

It had a few flaws so…I did a wash…

And painted the edge of the the canvas the same “hot pink” as the wall….

 

IMG_3047

 

And I’ve been spray painting a few other accessories….

IMG_2953

 

Today…they all get hung up.

I will try to update with some pictures so you can see the finished product.

 

 

 

20140410-185607.jpg

3 thoughts on “Baby Girl’s Room

  1. You should enter this room in the frogtape painting contest going on right now on their website. You have all of the photos…maybe just paint a few accessories like a striped picture frame and take a few more final pics with more accessories. wouldn’t it be cool if you won?!?

Leave a Reply

